Contest winners — Arizona Rosary Celebration

Winners of the 2012 Arizona Rosary Celebration poster contest with Phoenix's bishops (Ambria Hammel/CATHOLIC SUN)
Winners of the 2012 Arizona Rosary Celebration poster contest with Phoenix’s bishops (Ambria Hammel/CATHOLIC SUN)

After some delay in the judging, the winners of the 2012 Arizona Rosary Celebration poster contest have been announced. Most of the 24 winners of the K-8th contest were able to join Bishop Thomas J. Olmsted for Mass at the Diocesan Pastoral Center Feb. 14 followed by a pizza lunch.

The assignment was to depict your favorite mystery of the rosary. The Annunciation seemed to be a popular one among the winners. Seven parishes and Catholic schools had multiple winners. They are:

  • St. Thomas the Apostle — Frances Horn (K), Caroline Brewer (4th) and Lucilia Sanchez-Sandoval (7th)
  • Our Lady of Mount Carmel in Tempe — Samantha Tang (5th) and Alexandra Ortiz (7th)
  • Our Lady of Perpetual Help in Scottsdale — London Wood (3rd) and Jillian Kash (5th)
  • St. Agnes — Nellie Corrales (4th) and Teresa Cano (5th)
  • St. Francis Xavier — Karen Morales (5th) and Mira Briestensky (7th)
  • St. Peter Indian Mission — Alena Rivera (2nd) and Ariana Munoz (4th)
  • Ss. Simon and Jude — Isabel Love (3rd) and Alex Walsh (8th)

Top artists from other parishes and schools include:

  • Josue Benavides (1st) from St. Anthony in Wickenburg
  • Christopher Gonzales (1st) from St. Joseph
  • Frida Cruz (2nd) from St. Louis the King in Glendale
  • Sage Lowry (3rd) from St. Jerome School
  • Mia Rivera (3rd) from Holy Cross
  • Matthew Dodaro (4th) from St. Maria Goretti in Scottsdale
  • Fernando Nadia (5th) from St. Mary-Basha in Chandler
  • Veronica Lawrie (6th) from St. Luke
  • Julia Neumann (8th) from St. John Bosco School in Ahwatukee

See some of their work in our photo album on Facebook